3 professors emeriti for UPD

Dalisay, De Dios and Sy

(JUL. 3) – Professors Jose Y. Dalisay, PhD (College of Arts and Letters Department of English and Comparative Literature/CALDECL), Emmanuel S. De Dios, PhD (School of Economics/SE) and Polly W. Sy, PhD (College of Science Institute of Mathematics/CSIM) are the University’s latest professors emeriti together with four other retired faculty from University of the Philippines (UP) Los Baños and UP Manila.  The retired professors were conferred the title Professor Emeritus by the Board of Regents (BOR) at its 1344th meeting on Apr. 29.  

Dalisay was the former UP Vice President for Public Affairs.  A retired professor of English and Creative Writing at UP and former UP Institute of Creative Writing, he is now Professor Emeritus in English and Comparative Literature.  

De Dios is the President of the Human Development Network Philippines since July 2012 and Independent Director of the ABS-CBN Corporation Board of Directors since April 2013.  The former Dean of the UP School of Economics from 2007 to 2010 is now Professor Emeritus in Economics.  

Sy is a Governing Board of the National Research Council of the Philippines from April 2015 to March 2019, a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Abdus Salam School of Mathematical Sciences in Pakistan, an International Advisory Board of the Southeast Asian Mathematical Network in Phnom Penh.  She is now Professor Emeritus in Mathematics.  

From the University Faculty Manual, a professor emeritus is a title for life and is conferred upon retired faculty members in recognition of their exceptional achievement and exemplary service to the University. 

A professor emeritus receives a 1-time P150,000 monetary grant, lifetime library privileges, health service privileges and free admission to cultural shows in UP, among others.  .   

The BOR at its 1241st meeting on Feb. 27, 2009 approved the proposal of the Chancellors of the various constituent universities, who met at the President’s Advisory Council on May 12, 2009, to grant to a professor emeritus a one-time P150,000 monetary award.—Mariamme D. Jadloc

Posted: July 1, 2019 16:55