UPD pays tribute to “frontliners”


Camagay (center), 42 years of service, with (left) CSSP Dean Dr. Grace Aguiling-Dalisay and Chancellor Tan

UP Diliman (UPD) honored 124 retirees – 41 faculty members, 15 Research, Extension and Professional Staff (REPS) and 68 administrative staff at the 2016 Parangal sa mga Retirado at 2015 Gawad Paglilingkod held last May 19 at the GT-Toyota Asian Center Auditorium.

“This is the most important event in the Linggo ng Parangal 2016 because we are honoring the frontliners,” UPD Chancellor Michael L. Tan said at the ceremony.

“Without them (the retirees and service awardees), there would be no UP. They are crucial for the efficient and effective service of the University to the students and the country… Some of them even started direct from college, serving the University almost all their lives,” he added.

Some of the retired faculty served the UP administration in various capacities. They were Dr. Grace J. Alfonso (College of Mass Communication [CMC]; UP Open University [UPOU] Chancellor, UP Film Institute Director), the late Dr. Ma. Theresa U. Batangan (College of Social Sciences and Philosophy [CSSP]; UP Center for Women’s Studies Deputy Director), Dr. Ma. Luisa T. Camagay (CSSP; UP Press Director and UPD Sentro ng Wikang Filipino Assistant Director), Dr. Pamela C. Constantino (College of Arts and Letters [CAL]; UPD University Registrar) and Dr. Ma. Oliva Z. Domingo (National College of Public Administration and Administration; Assistant Vice President [AVP] for Academic Affairs).

Completing the list were Dr. Ma. Carmen C. Jimenez (CSSP; UP Center for Integrative and Development Studies Director), Dr. Priscelina P. Legasto (CAL; AVP for Public Affairs, UP System Information Office and UP Office of Alumni Relations Director), the late Dr. Florinda DF. Mateo (CMC; AVP for Academic Affairs, UP System Office for Institutional Linkages Director), Dr. Gilda C. Rivero (College of Science [CS]; UP Mindanao Chancellor), and Dr. Judy M. Taguiwalo (College of Social Work and Community Development; Faculty Regent).


Constantino (left), 43 years of service, with Chancellor Tan and CAL Dean Dr. Amihan Bonifacio-Ramolete

Six served as deans or heads of their academic units. They were Dr. Candido A. Cabrido Jr. (dean, School of Urban and Regional Planning), Legasto (dean, joint Faculty of Social Sciences & Humanities and the Faculty of Science & Technology of UPOU), Dr. Filipinas F. Natividad (director, Institute of Biology [IB] of CS), Dr. Rene E. Ofreneo (dean, School of Labor and Industrial Relations [SOLAIR]), Rivero (director, IB of CS) and Dr. Jorge V. Sibal (dean, SOLAIR).

Others served in various government posts. They were Atty. Patricia Rosalind S. Daway (College of Law; Labor Arbiter in the National Labor Relations Commission of the Department of Labor and Employment), Prof. Ma. Victoria T. Herrera (CAL; Head of the Visual Arts Department of the Cultural Center of the Philippines), and Sibal (SOLAIR; Director of Sports Development of Quezon City).

Fourteen were also recognized posthumously. Among them were Dr. Dante L. Ambrosio of CSSP, Batangan, Dr. Fidelina N. Carlos of the School of Economics, Dr. Sylvano D. Mahiwo of the Asian Center, and Mateo.

The event also honored 14 service awardees – 1 faculty member, 1 REPS and 12 administrative staff. Fifty-five of the retirees were present during the event while 31 were represented by their family members or colleagues. All but one of the service awardees received their award personally.

For their service and dedication, Tan said efforts were being done to return the favor to the retirees. “There will be a coffee shop but the price will not be like those in UP Town Center; renovation and expansion of services offered by the University Health Service; and, further development of rehabilitation procedures and services like physical and occupational therapies.”

Rene_Felix (2)

Felix (center), 46 years of service, with (left) Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Dr. Benito M. Pacheco and Chancellor Tan

In her opening remark, Vice Chancellor for Administration Prof. Virginia C. Yap said to the delight of the crowd, “Goodbye to tension. Hello to pension.” She also said “the cash award was increased for these people who served ‘UP naming mahal’ selflessly.” For retirees with special award, they received P60,000 (from P40,000) while service awardees received P40,000 (from P15,000). Special awards are given to retirees who served for at least 40 years and have not incurred a single leave of absence without pay. The Gawad Paglilingkod Award, on the other hand, is given to employees in active service who have served the University for at least 40 years and have not incurred a single leave of absence without pay.

“The retirees and service awardees are instrumental in the promotion of the objectives of the University,” Yap said.

The Parangal sa mga Retirado is an annual event which began in 1996 to honor the retirees while the annual Gawad Paglilingkod event began in 1997 to honor service awardees. Aside from cash prize for retirees with special awards and service awardees, all awardees receive a certificate, plaque and a medallion inscribed with the seal of the University.

Organized by the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Administration and hosted by CAL professor Dr. Ma. Crisanta N. Flores. Adding life to the event were performances by John Lesaca and the UP Dance Company. The retirees and service awardees were later treated to a merienda cena at the GT-Toyota grounds.

Posted: June 10, 2016 10:22