UPD fetes student-athletes

UP Diliman (UPD), through the UPD Office for Athletics and Sports Development (OASD), celebrated the achievements of student-athletes at this year’s Varsity Night.

The event which carried the theme Laban UP! was held on June 10 at the Varsity Training Center.

OASD Director Dolreich Bo Perasol said the Varsity Night was an event to recognize student-athletes’ achievements at the recently concluded Season 86 of the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP).

“This is our way of recognizing all the efforts and achievements of UPD student-athletes, and to encourage them also to do more next UAAP season,” explained Perasol.

Perasol. Photo by Jerald DJ. Caranza, UPDIO

Among those honored were the varsity teams that performed well and gave pride to UP by scoring podium finishes in the second semester UAAP events. These were the Men’s Football Team (champion), Women’s Softball Team (second place), Women’s Fencing Team (third place), Women’s Football Team (third place), and the Streetdance Club (third place).

The OASD also gave Varsity Letter awards to student-athletes who excelled in their respective events at UAAP Season 86.

According to event host Sam Corrales, the varsity letters are awarded to student-athletes who have excelled in their sports. The Varsity Letter Award was introduced by the Harvard University Baseball Team in 1865.

Attendees of the varsity night. Photo by Jerald DJ. Caranza, UPDIO

Maroon Letter awards were given to 78 student-athletes for their outstanding performances. Green Letter awards were given to 27 student-athletes who are UAAP champion team members and are national team members.

Aside from letter awards, star awards were presented to student-athletes for their outstanding feats.

Green Star awards were presented to 16 student-athletes who won individual awards in UAAP Season 86, while Gold Star awards were presented to 52 to student-athletes who played in international competitions.

Individuals and teams that set new records at the UAAP Season 86 were presented with the UAAP New Record Holder awards. The awardees were Sally Campus (3000-meter walk), Ed Deliña (discus throw), Alhryan Labita (100- and 200-meter dash), the Men’s Swimming Team (4×100 medley relay), and Women’s Swimming Team (4×100 freestyle relay).

Meanwhile, 48 student-athletes received the Varsity Recognition Award for playing at the UAAP tournaments for four to five years. On the other hand, 10 student-athletes received the Varsity Loyalty Award. They are student-athletes who have already graduated but taken a master’s or a second degree program in order to play and represent UP at the UAAP.

Twenty-one student-athletes who stood out in their participation in international competitions were honored with the Maroon Letter with Gold Star award.

Fifteen UP coaches who assisted and served the national and international teams received the Coach Special Award.

UP student-athletes sing UP Naming Mahal. Photo by Jerald DJ. Caranza, UPDIO

Special awards were given to individuals who have distinguished themselves for their exemplary work and exceptional achievements. Recipients were Susan Maedel C. Lara (Outstanding Alumna Student-Athlete), Quendy Fernandez (UAAP Season 86 Athlete of the Year for Individual Sports), Susmita Angelique Ramos (UAAP Season 86 Athlete Scholar), and Orlando M. A. Guerrero (Coach Lifetime Achievement Award).

In closing, Perasol thanked all the student-athletes, patrons, and supporters for their dedication and love for UP. He encouraged the UP community to give the same support and spirit in the next UAAP season, which the University will be hosting.