POSCO recognizes 15 UPD scholars



(From left, seated) OIL-UPD director Dr. Grace C. Ramos, POSCO TJ Park Foundation Managing Director Nak Yun Sung, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Dr. Neil Martial Santillan, Korean Cultural Centre Philippines Director Choong Suk Oh, POSCO-PMPC, Inc. President Hyeng Sik Choi and (from right, standing) POSCO PMPC Inc. General Manager Sung Woo Rim with the POSCO scholars Paolo Raphael A. Piedad, Julie Anne A. Francisco, Dean Nicole S. Atienza, Diego Alberto B. Nepomuceno, Susanna Ruth A. Gruyal, Mark Romeo B. Aquino, Danilo Lorenzo S. Atanacio, Sherilyn H. Caringal, Jude Paolo V. Bognot and Qristin Jeuel F. Regalado.


(MAY 23)—Fifteen UP Diliman (UPD) students, comprising the second batch, received the Pohang Iron and Steel Company TJ Park Foundation (POSCO-TJPF) through its POSCO Asia Fellowship Program scholarship for Academic Year (AY) 2015-2016 in ceremonies held at the Asian Center/GT Toyota Asian Cultural Center Wisdom Hall on May 12.

The first batch was awarded on Mar. 31, 2015.

POSCO scholars receive $700 for one year or $350 per semester. The amount is given in its peso equivalent per semester.

Ten of the 15 POSCO scholars received the certificates at the ceremony. They were: Mark Romeo B. Aquino (BS Chemical Engineering), Danilo Lorenzo S. Atanacio (BS Economics), Dean Nicole S. Atienza (BS Business Administration and Accountancy/BS BAA), Jude Paolo V. Bognot (BS Business Economics), Sherilyn H. Caringal (BS Statistics), Julie Anne A. Francisco (BS BAA), Susanna Ruth A. Gruyal (BS BAA), Diego Alberto B. Nepomuceno (BS BAA), Paolo Raphael A. Piedad (BS Industrial Engineering) and Qristin Jeuel F. Regalado (BS Psychology).

Completing the list are: Katreena Mae F. Constantino (BS BAA), Vienne Rose G. Del Monte (BA Political Science), Erica Camille U. Lau (BS BAA), Athena Charanne R. Presto (BA Sociology) and Ayesha Noor C. Abinal (BA European Languages).

Abinal is currently in Hankuk University of Foreign Studies in Seoul, South Korea as an exchange student. All 15 students are continuing scholars of POSCO-TJPF.

President Hyeng Sik Choi of POSCO Philippine Manila Processing Center, Inc. (PMPC), Managing Director Nak Yun Sung of POSCO-TJPF, Dr. Neil Martial R. Santillan, vice chancellor for student affairs, and Dr. Grace C. Ramos, UPD Office of International Linkages director, awarded the certificates of scholarship.

Santillan thanked POSCO for their continuous support to the university.

The POSCO Asia Fellowship is one of POSCO-TJPF’s core programs that provides students with scholarships and facilitates research activities with the aim of enhancing mutual understanding and collaborative programs among Asian countries.

To qualify for the POSCO scholarship, applicants must be undergraduate students with a general weighted average of 2.0 or better and must have carried a load of at least 15 units. Students must not be enjoying any other scholarship at the time of the award.

Now on its tenth year of helping UPD students, POSCO has produced 46 UPD graduates as of the 2nd semester of AY 2014-2015, of whom 42 received Latin honors, comprising five summa cum laude, 25 magna cum laude and 12 cum laude.

Interested students may apply for the scholarship at the Office of Scholarships and Student Services.

Posted: May 23, 2016 6:42