Four UPD professors are PRC Outstanding Professionals of the Year

By Anna Regidor


(JUN. 20)—The Professional Regulation Commission (PRC) has recognized four UPD professors as the outstanding professional of the year in their respective fields.

Dr. Carlos A. Arcilla of the National Institute of Geological Sciences, Dr. Raquel B. Florendo of the College of Home Economics, Dr. Florentino C. Sumera of the Institute of Chemistry  and Arch. Michael V. Tomeldan of the College of Architecture are this year’s PRC Outstanding Professsional of the Year in the fields of Geology, Interior Design, Chemistry and Environmental Planning, respectively.

The PRC is the government body for the regulation and licensing of various professions and occupations.

The annual award is given to individuals who have amply demonstrated professional competence of the highest degree and conducted themselves with integrity in the exercise of their respective professions.

In addition, these individuals must have “participated meaningfully in professional activities through the professional organization, contributed significantly to the advancement of the profession, and contributed significantly to the effective discharge of the profession’s social responsibility through meaningful contribution/participation in socio-related activities,” according to the PRC.

The PRC presides over 46 professions, including accountancy, agriculture, architecture, chemical engineering, chemistry, civil engineering, environmental planning, geology, interior design, librarians, medicine, metallurgical engineering, professional teachers and veterinary medicine.

Awarding ceremonies will take place today, Jun. 20 at the Philippine International Convention Center in Manila.

Photo credit:
Carlos Arcilla:
Michael Tomeldan: Sir Michael Tomeldan
Florentino Sumera: