Community Journ fellows chosen

Lopez Jaena

(AUG. 26)—The UP Diliman College of Mass Communication (CMC) has chosen 19 print, broadcast and online journalists and journalism educators and seven students as fellows in the 18th Graciano Lopez Jaena Journalism Workshop.

This year’s workshop focuses on corruption in media and governance. It will be held at the CMC Plaridel Hall at UP Diliman, Quezon City from October 3 to 8.

For the first time since the workshop started in 1985, this year’s activity will have one fellow from India, Sriram Arulchelvan (Anna University, Chennai, India). Sixteen fellows are Filipino journalists and students from Luzon, seven are journalists from the Visayas and two journalists are from Mindanao.

The fellows from Luzon are journalists Sheree-Anne Crisologo (Manila Bulletin-Nueva Ecija), Andy De Leon (Northern Post Bulletin), Anne Ednalyn Dela Cruz (Bulatlat Multimedia), Darius Galang (Pinoy Weekly), Aldren Lacandazo (Tudla Productions), Reynard Magtoto (Bicol Today), Rimaliza Opina (Baguio Midland Courier), Christopher Pasion (Pinoy Weekly) and Max Santiago (Tudla Productions).

The Luzon-based students are April Anne Benjamin, Beata Regina Carolino, Christelle Jane Delvo, Ana Coritha Desamparado, Ma. Julienne Clare Gregorio, John Nelvin Lucero and Kiersnerr Gerwin Borja Tacadena. Gregorio is from St. Paul University-Quezon City while the rest are from CMC.

Fellows from the Visayas are journalists Jose Gerwin Babon (Calbayog Post), Eugene Jamandron (Kitang Lungsuranon-Negros Oriental), Mae Macapobre (FARDEC),
Sarwell Meniano (Leyte Samar Daily Express), Marvie Flores Matura (FARDEC), Lorelie Soriano Salarda (DyBr Apple Radio) and Jennifer Sumagang-Allegado (PBS-DYOG Radyo ng Bayan-Samar)

The Mindanao-based fellows are Trisha Ann Samantha Aligato (Radyo ni Juan) and Earl Condeza (Davao Today).

The 26 fellows were chosen on the basis of their professional background, sample works and story idea for an article they should write during the workshop.

For more details, please call Alex NP Tamayo at 920-6864 or 981-8500 local 2668 or email —UP College of Mass Communication