71 faculty members appointed UP Scientists

UP recognized the hard work and exceptional research productivity of its faculty members by appointing 71 of them as UP Scientists of various ranks under the Scientific Productivity System (SPS) in ceremonies at the Ang Bahay ng Alumni on Mar. 21.

The scientists were appointed for the period 2017 to 2019. Of the total appointees, 13 or 18.3 percent were from UPD.

Named Scientist I were: College of Science (CS) professors Dr. Fredegusto Guido P. David; Dr. Laura T. David;  Dr. Janet M. Puzon; Dr. Lilibeth A. Salvador-Reyes and Dr. Armando S. Somintac; Dr. Mary Donnabelle L. Balela and Dr. Louis Angelo M. Danao from the College of Engineering (COE); and Dr. Armand Salvador B. Mijares from the Archaeological Studies Program.

Appointed Scientist II were: Dr. Joey D. Ocon (COE); Dr. Agnes T. Paras and Dr. Arnel A. Salvador (CS); and Dr. Teresa S. Encarnacion-Tadem from the College of Social Sciences and Philosophy.

Dr. Alonzo A. Gabriel, from the College of Home Economics, is the lone Scientist III recipient from UPD.

The SPS was created by virtue of its approval of the UP Board of Regents at its 1199th meeting on Aug. 26, 2005.  SPS supports the development of science and technology and encourages and rewards scientific productivity.

The SPS implementing guidelines states that regular faculty, full time faculty, research faculty and Research Extension and Professional Staff (REPS) in active service who belong to the scientific disciplines such as basic/natural sciences and mathematics, engineering and information and communication technology, medical sciences, agricultural sciences, selected fields of Social Sciences, library and archival sciences and scientific and technical documentation, may be considered for the title of UP Scientist. Nominees must have at the minimum a Ph.D. degree or MD with MS/MA degrees.

Appointment as UP Scientist is evaluated based on the following general criteria: scientific publications in refereed reputable scientific journals and books; peer-reviewed technological outputs; scientific standing in the international science community; and professional standing in the international science community.

The UP Scientist appointment carries monetary rewards of P150,000, P200,000 and P250,000 annually, for Scientist I,II and III respectively.

Posted: March 27, 2018 5:06