NAST honors 5 UPD faculty members


The National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) Philippines has recognized five UPD professors for their outstanding contributions to advance science and technology in the country.

Dr. Alfredo Mahar A. Lagmay of the National Institute of Geological Sciences (NIGS) was conferred the title Academician for his researches in natural hazards and disasters.

The title Academician is a peer recognition. A candidate, a scientist for that matter, joins the roster if he obtained more than 50 percent of the votes of the total membership of NAST. The membership is the policy making body of the Academy.

Meanwhile, Dr. Mary Donnabelle L. Balela of the Department Mining, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering, Dr. Manuel Joseph C. Loquias of the Institute Mathematics, Dr. Majah-Leah V. Ravago of the School of Economics and Dr. Aaron Joseph L. Villaraza of the Institute of Chemistry were recognized as this year’s Outstanding Young Scientists (OYS) in the field of materials science and engineering, mathematics, economics, and chemistry, respectively.

The OYS award is given annually to young Filipino scientists who have made significant contributions to science and technology. In addition, the awardee should be “of exceptional ability to undertake scientific research as evidenced by papers published in reputable scientific journals.”

NAST, established in 1976, was created to recognize exemplary achievements in the science and technology and to serve as a reservoir of competent scientific and technological manpower for the country. NAST also serves as the advisory body of the Philippine President on policies concerning science and technology in the country.

The awarding ceremony was held on July 14 at the Centennial Hall, Manila Hotel.


Photo credits: Dr. Lagmay, Dr. Balela, Institute of Mathematics website and Dr. Ravago

Posted: July 22, 2016 5:57