NAST honors UPD scientists


(JUN. 13)—The National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) Philippines recognized UPD scientists/researchers for their outstanding contributions in the advancement of the country’s science and technology.


Prof. Benito Pacheco, PhD of the Institute of Civil Engineering, College of Engineering and Prof. Marie Antonette Junio-Meñez, PhD of The Marine Science Institute (MSI) were conferred the title Academician (Acad.) for their works in disaster risk management and in invertebrate biology, respectively.

The title Academician is a peer recognition. A candidate, joins the roster if he obtains more than 50 percent of the votes of the total membership of NAST. The membership is the policy-making body of the Academy.


Meanwhile, professors Pia D. Bagamasbad of the National Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, Lilibeth A. Salvador-Reyes, PhD of The MSI, Michael Francis Ian G. Vega II, PhD of the National Institute of Physics and Michael C. Velarde, PhD of the Institute of Biology were recognized as this year’s Outstanding Young Scientists (OYS) in molecular endocrinology, biochemistry and pharmacology, theoretical physics and physiology and biophysics, respectively.


The OYS award is given annually to young Filipino scientists who made significant contributions to science and technology. In addition, the awardee should be “of exceptional ability to undertake scientific research as evidenced by papers published in reputable scientific journals.”

Moreover, two exceptional scientific papers from UPD researchers were given the NAST Outstanding Scientific Paper (OSP) Award: “Pathology and DNA analysis of exhumed human remains three-years post-mortem,” published in the Philippine Journal of Science 147(1): 9-16, 2018, and “The ecology of an incipient marine biological invasion: The Charru mussel Mytella charruana d’Orbignyi, 1846 (Bivalvia: Mytilidae) in Manila Bay, Luzon, Philippines,” Journal of Science 146(4): 483-492, 2017.


The first paper were authored by Dr. Gayvelline C. Calacal, Dr. Jazelyn M. Salvador, Dr. Minerva S. Sagum, Dr. Raquel D. Fortun and Dr. Maria Corazon A. De Ungria from the DNA Analysis Laboratory, Natural Sciences Research Institute, while the second paper were written by Dr. Benjamin Vallejo Jr., Jennifer Conejar-Espedido and Dr. Leanna Manubag of the Institute of Environmental Science and Meteorology.


The OSP Award is given annually to recognize outstanding scientific papers published in Philippine scientific or technical journals within five years preceding the award.

Established in 1976, NAST was created to recognize exemplary achievements in the science and technology and to serve as a reservoir of competent scientific and technological manpower for the country. It serves as the advisory body of the Philippine President on policies concerning the country’s science and technology.

Awarding ceremonies is on July 11 in time for the NAST- Philippines’ 41st Annual Scientific Meeting at the EDSA Shangri-la Manila, Mandaluyong City. — Bino Gamba

Posted: June 13, 2019 16:08