UP Diliman

International Awards

The Galileo Galilei Award of the International Commission of Optics (ICO) is given for outstanding contributions to the field of optics achieved under “comparatively unfavorable circumstances,” refering to “difficult economic or social conditions or lack of access to scientific or technical facilities or sources of information.” The outstanding contributions must be documented, if applicable, by internationally-acknowledged publications. The award is normally given to one person; however, if a collective contribution is judged to be worthy of the award, a team of several persons may be selected. The award consists of the Galileo Galilei Medal, a silver medal with the portrait of Galileo Galilei donated by the Italian Society of Optics and Photonics, SIOF (Società Italiana di Ottica e Fotonica); assistance in travel to present an invited paper and receive the award at the ICO Congress or another ICO meeting mutually agreed to by the Bureau and the award winner, a cash donation and special attention and appropriate measures of ICO to support the future activities of the award winner.

Caesar A. Saloma, PhD (2004)
National Institute of Physics, College of Science
(To date, he is the only Filipino to receive the prestigious recognition.)

The Ramon Magsaysay Award is given to persons, regardless of race, nationality, creed or gender, who address issues of human development in Asia with courage and creativity, and in doing so have made contributions which have transformed their societies for the better. Given since 1958, the roster of awardees includes social and political leaders who have led independence movements; established, restored, or strengthened democratic institutions; and reformed inept government systems. Other awardees have modernized their post-war economies; preserved and promoted indigenous cultures; and pioneered in setting up basic human services programs in health, education and social welfare especially for the poor and marginalized.

Bienvenido Lumbera Jr., PhD
Professor Emeritus, College of Arts and Letters
Ramon Magsaysay Award for Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication

The Southeast Asian Writers Award honors leading poets and writers in 10 countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) namely: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. Presented annually since 1979, the winners are recommended by peers from the Southeast Asian region, although not all countries in ASEAN are represented every year.  The award is sometimes given for a specific work by an author, or it could be awarded for lifetime achievement.  The types of works that are honored vary, and have included poetry, short stories, novels, plays, folklore and scholarly and religious works.

Romulo P. Baquiran Jr., PhD (2011)
Department of Filipino and Philippine Literature, College of Arts and Letters

Victor Emmanuel Carmelo Nadera Jr., PhD (2006)
Department of Filipino and Philippine Literature, College of Arts and Letters

Domingo Landicho, PhD (2003)
Professor Emeritus, College of Arts and Letters

Virgilio S. Almario, PhD (1988)
National Artist for Literature
Professor Emeritus and former dean, College of Arts and Letters

The International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST) Young Scientist Award puts the spotlight on the initial phases of a career in Food Science and Technology. Established eight years ago, it recognizes the recipient’s potential to make outstanding scientific contributions to the field of food science and technology and the potential for future scientific leadership.  The (IUFoST) is the global scientific organization representing over 300,000 food scientists and technologists from more than 75 countries.  IUFoST aims to stimulate the ongoing exchange of knowledge in those scientific disciplines and technologies relating to the expansion, improvement, distribution and conservation of the world’s food supply.

Alonzo A. Gabriel, PhD (2013)
Department of Food Science and Nutrition, College of Home Economics
(To date, he is the only Filipino scientist to receive the prestigious international recognition.)

The Premio Feronia is Italy’s top literary award for foreign authors. Established 1992 and promoted by the City of Fiano Romano in the province of Rome, the award is divided into four sections namely: Poetry, Fiction, Non-Fiction and Special Recognition to a foreign author.  According to the organizers, the award is considered “antipremio” and choices are based on the quality of the texts rather than the “marketing strategies of dominant publishing houses.”

Gemino H. Abad, PhD 
Foreign Author category, 2009
Department of English and Comparative Literature, College of Arts and Letters
(To date, he is the only Filipino to receive the prestigious literary award.)

The John D. Rockefeller III Award is presented yearly by the Asian Cultural Council (ACC) to an individual from Asia or the United States who has made a significant contribution to the international understanding, practice, or study of the visual or performing arts of Asia.  This award for outstanding professional achievement commemorates the deep and long standing interest of John D. Rockefeller III in Asian art and culture and given to individuals active in their field. Candidates must be nominated by artists, scholars, and others professionally involved in Asian art and culture. Recipients are selected by the ACC trustees in consultation with various specialists in the candidates’ fields as well as with qualified individuals having firsthand knowledge of the nominees’ professional activities and accomplishments.

(+) Jose Maceda,PhD
National Artist for Music, 1987
Former Dean, College of Music