UP Diliman

The University of the Philippines

OBLATION-FRONTThe University of the PhilippinesThe University of the Philippines (UP) is the country’s national university, as declared by its Charter of 2008 which was approved by the 14th Congress of the Philippines on April 29, 2008. This premier institution of higher learning was established in 1908 and is now a system composed of seven constituent universities and one autonomous college spread throughout 15 campuses in the archipelago. As of 2012, the UP System’s student population was  estimated at 57,000.

UP was founded on June 18, 1908 through Act No. 1870 of the Philippine Assembly. The university was created upon the recommendation of the Secretary of Public Instruction, W. Morgan Schuster, to the Philippine Commission, the upper house of the Philippine Assembly. Act 1870 authorized the Governor General to establish UP in the “city of Manila, or at any point he may deem most convenient.” UP was to give “advanced instruction in literature, philosophy, the sciences and arts, and to give professional and technical training” to every qualified student regardless of “age, sex, nationality, religious belief and political affiliation.”

Click here for additional details on the UP history.

The University of the Philippines SealThe UP Seal currently in use was approved by the Board of Regents at its 77th meeting on February 25, 1913. It features an eagle with its wings spread and perched on a shield that carries three icons representing the university’s fields of specialization namely, agriculture, engineering and medicine. Inscribed on top of the circular band that surrounds it are the words “University of the Philippines” and “1908” at the bottom.

Click here for complete history of the UP Seal.

UP Seal

UP Seal

Board of Regents Hon. Patricia B. Licuanan, Chairperson
(Chair, Commission on Higher Education)
Hon. Alfredo E. Pascual, Co-chairperson
Hon. Pia S. Cayetano
(Chairperson, Senate Committee on Education, Arts and Culture)
Hon. Roman Romulo
(Chairperson, House Committee on Higher and Technical Education)
Hon. Ponciano E. Rivera, Jr., Alumni Regent
(President, UP Alumni Association)
Hon. Lourdes E. Abadingo, Faculty Regent
Hon. Neill John Macuha, Student Regent
Hon. Anna Razel L. Ramirez, Staff Regent
Hon. Magdaleno B. Albarracin, Jr.
Hon. Gizela M. Gonzalez-Montinola
President Alfredo E. Pascual
VP for Academic Affairs Prof. Gisela Padilla-Concepcion, PhD
VP for Administration Prof. Maragtas S.V. Amante, PhD
VP for Planning and Finance Prof. Joselito G. Florendo, PhD
VP for Development Prof. Elvira A. Zamora, DBA
VP for Public Affairs Prof. J. Prospero E. De Vera, DPA
VP for Legal Affairs Hector Danny D. Uy, LLB, MNSA
University Secretary Prof. Lillian A. de las Llagas, MSc, PhD, LLB
AVP for Academic Affairs Prof. Rhodora V. Azanza, PhD
AVP for Academic Affairs Prof. Alyssa M. Peleo-Alampay, PhD
AVP for Academic Affairs Prof. Carla B. Dimalanta, PhD
AVP for Administration Prof. Nestor O. Rañeses, PhD
AVP for Development Prof. Jaime D.L. Caro, PhD
AVP for Development Prof. Cristopher S.P. Espina, PhD
AVP for Public Affairs Prof. Jose Wendell P. Capili, PhD
AVP for Planning and Finance Prof. Noreen P. Escultura
Assistant to the University Secretary Prof. Virginia E. Ramos-Ocampo, PhD
Office of Institutional Linkages Prof. Rhodora V. Azanza, PhD, Director
Office of Admissions Prof. Aurora Odette C. Mendoza, PhD, Director
Center for Integrative Development Studies Prof. Edna Estifania Co, PhD, Director
Center for Women’s Studies Prof. Judy M. Taguiwalo, PhD, Director
The University of the Philippines Press Prof. Jose Neil C. Garcia, PhD, Director
Technology and Integrative Development Center Prof. Jaime D.L. Caro, PhD, Director
Philippine Genome Center Prof. Carmencita D. Padilla, PhD, Director
Office of Design and PlanningInitiatives Prof. Cristopher S.P. Espina, PhD, Director
Office of Alumni Relations Prof. Jose Wendell P. Capili, Director
System Information Office Prof. Frances Fatima M. Cabana, Deputy Director
UP Padayon Office Prof. Nelson G. Cainghog, Director
Technology Licensing Office Prof. Reynaldo L. Garcia, PhD, Director
System Budget Office Prof. Noreen P. Escultura, Director
System Accounting Office Ms. Susan Sanchez, Officer-in-Charge
System Cash Office Mr. Eduardo Sabat, Officer-in-Charge
System Internal Audit Office Ms. Myrose April C. Victor, Officer-in-Charge
System Supply and Property Management Office Mr. Isagani L. Bagus, Officer-in-Charge
Chancellor, UP Diliman Dr. Michael L. Tan
Chancellor, UP Los Baños Dr. Fernando C. Sanchez, Jr.
Chancellor, UP Manila Dr. Carmencita M. David-Padilla
Chancellor, UP Visayas Dr. Rommel A. Espinosa
Chancellor, Open University Dr. Grace J. Alfonso
Chancellor, UP Mindanao Dr. Sylvia B. Concepcion
Chancellor, UP Baguio Dr. Raymundo D. Rovillos
Dean, UP Cebu College Atty. Liza D. Corro