UP Press honors 13 National Artists

(NOV.27)—The University of the Philippines Press (UP Press), in partnership with the College of Arts and Letters, will hold an exhibit and book launch in February 2016 honoring the National artists whose books have been published by the institution.

The 13 National Artists are: Amado V. Hernandez (Literature, 1973), Leonor Orosa-Goquingco (Dance, 1976), Francisco Arcellana (Literature, 1990), Edith L. Tiempo (Literature, 1999), Dr. Nestor Vicente Madali (NVM) Gonzalez (Literature, 1997), Rolando S. Tinio (Theatre, 1997), Dr. Jose M. Maceda (Music, 1997), Dr. Francisco Sionil Jose (Literature, 2003), Dr. Virgilio S. Almario (Literature, 2003), Dr. Bienvenido L. Lumbera (Literature, 2006), Lazaro A. Francisco (Literature, 2009), Dr. Ramon P. Santos (Music, 2014) and Dr. Cirilo F. Bautista (Literature, 2014).

The exhibit will be mounted at the Gallery 1, Faculty Center, Bulwagang Rizal from Feb. 1 to 5, 2016.

In addition, a re-launching of the UP Press titles and special tributes from colleagues and friends entitled “PAGPUPUGAY: A Tribute to the National Artists of the UP Press” will be held on Feb. 5 at the Claro M. Recto Hall, Bulwagang Rizal.

The activities are part of the year-long Golden Anniversary celebration of UP Press.

Posted: November 27, 2015 5:44