Chancellor Caesar A. Saloma, PhD

Caesar A. Saloma, PhD
March 2, 2011-March 1, 2014
Professor 12, College of Science (CS)

A professor at the National Institute of Physics (NIP). Saloma was appointed 9th Chancellor by the Board of Regents at its 1267th meeting on March 2, 2011. He served from March 2011 to March 2014. At the time of his appointment, he was Dean of the College of Science (CS), a post he was first appointed to in 2006 and re-appointed for a second term in 2009. As Chancellor, the centerpiece of his administration was to “provide a nurturing and enabling environment.” Among his accomplishments were: the constitution of a Campus Safety and Welfare Committee to enhance the safety and welfare of employees and students as well as campus visitors; approval of the 2012 UP Diliman Land Use Plan and the 2012 Code of Student Conduct; enhancement of services available to students and employees including one-stop registration scheme and assistance programs to prepare employees for eventual compulsory retirement; and infrastructure development of the National Science Complex and the National Engineering Complex. Saloma obtained his bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees in Physics from UPD in 1981, 1984 and 1989, respectively.

In 2004, he received the Galileo Galilei Award from the International Commission for Optics in recognition of his significant contributions in the field of optics. He is the first scientist from an ASEAN member country to receive the award. He also received the  triennial ASEAN Outstanding Scientist and Technologist Award from the ASEAN Committee on Science and Technology in 2008, was cited in Marquis Who’s Who in Science and Engineering 2011-2012 (11th Edition), and was named one of the 15 Asian Scientists to Watch by Asian Scientist in 2011.

Locally, he was cited in the “50 Men and Women of Science” list released by the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) in 2008 and received the 2010 Outstanding Science Administrator Award (Dioscoro L. Umali Medal) from the DOST and National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) in recognition of his commitment, leadership, dedication and outstanding service as scientist, teacher and administrator. Saloma was elected to the NAST in July 2005.

The Lingkod Bayan Award (the Presidential Award for Outstanding Public Service) was conferred on him by Philippine President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo on September 19, 2008. The award is the highest recognition given to a Philippine government employee for outstanding performance.

He joined the UPD faculty as an instructor at NIP in 1981. Rising in rank, he became director of NIP from June 2000 to May 2006 and dean of CS from June 2006 to March 2011.

Last Updated: 10 Oct 2022