Chancellor Sergio S. Cao, PhD

Sergio S. Cao, PhD
Professor 11, Cesar E.A. Virata School of Business (VSB)  (ret.)

Cao served as chancellor for two terms, from 2005 to 2008 and 2008 to 2011. Among his accomplishments were the infrastructure development of the National Science Complex and the Engineering Research and Development Technology Project (ERDT) of the College of Engineering; the expansion of the Faculty Development Fund and Administrative Development Fund; the transfer of the Office of the University Registrar to its new building to provide better service to students, alumni and the general public; and the creation of 122 new instructor items.

Cao earned a BS Mathematics degree (1982), an MS in Mathematics (1986), and a PhD in Mathematics (1991), all from UPD. From 1997 to 1998, he was on Fellowship at Northwestern University where he took graduate courses on accounting, finance, statistics and econometrics.

He was hailed as one of the country’s Outstanding Young Scientists by the National Academy of Science and Technology in 1994. He also received the UP President’s Award for Outstanding Publications in 1993 and the Outstanding University Office Administrator award from the UPD Chancellor in 1995.

He joined the university as Assistant Chair for Administration at the Department of Mathematics (now Institute of Mathematics) at the College of Science (CS) from 1991 to 1992. He served as the officer-in-charge of the Department of Mathematics from April 1992 to July 1992, and as CS College Secretary from 1992 to 1993. He was also Chair of the Department of Accounting and Finance at the College of Business Administration (CBA, now Cesar E.A. Virata School of Business) from January 2005 to February 2005.

At the university level, Cao was University Registrar from 1993 to 1997; Assistant Vice President for Development (1999- 2001); Vice President for Planning and Finance (2001- 2003) and Faculty Regent (2004- 2005).

He was a professor of finance at VSB, teaching financial derivatives and risk management until 2011, when he became President of Manila Tytana Colleges (formerly Manila Doctors College).

Last Updated: 10 Oct 2022