print preview

UPD welcomes new faculty

New faculty members with the officers of the UPD administration (seated, second row, from left):Prof. Alice Celestino (NCPAG), Prof. Faina Lucero Diola (NCPAG), Dr. Cristine DLR Villagonzalo, Prof. Portia P. Padilla, Dr. Evangeline C. Amor, Prof. Melania L. Flores, Dr. Benito M. Pacheco, Chancellor Caesar A. Saloma, Dr. Ronald Banzon, Prof. Virginia C. Yap, Dr. Angela D. Escoto, Prof. Ma. Corazon J. Tan, Dr. Jonathan Sale (SOLAIR), Prof. Julieta Indias (CHE) and Prof. Eimee Rhea Lagrama (SLIS).

(September 4)—It was a welcome of sorts for some 151 new mentors when officers of the UPD administration familiarized them with matters—academic and otherwise—that have bearing on their careers and lives at the university. The program, called Orientation of New Faculty, was conducted at the SOLAIR auditorium on September 3.

Welcoming the participants, UPD chancellor Dr. Caesar A. Saloma described teaching at UP as “exhausting.” However, he reminded them: “You have chosen to be a member of the UP faculty because you value the growth of ideas and the life of the nation and because you will not find a livelier sanctuary for the intellect than in the UP community.”

Members of the Executive Staff and other officers of the administration acquainted the participants with various concerns. Discussing academic matters were three vice chancellors namely Dr. Ronald Banzon (Academic Affairs), Dr. Benito M. Pacheco (Research and Development), Prof. Ma. Corazon J. Tan (Student Affairs) and University Registrar Dr. Evangeline Amor.  Additional academic concerns were addressed by directors Prof. Portia P. Padilla (Instruction), Dr. Cristine DLR Villagonzalo (Extension Coordination) and Prof. Peter A. Sy (Diliman Interactive Learning Center). Marian Ramos talked on the University Library.

Non academic concerns were also discussed. Speakers included Human Resources Development Office director Dr. Angela D. Escoto,  UP Provident Fund Inc. executive director Dr.Lina Valcarcel, UP Credit Union chairman and vice chancellor for administration Prof. Virginia C. Yap, Anti Sexual Harassment Office coordinator Prof. Soledad Natalia Dalisay, Dilliman Gender Office coordinator Prof. Yolanda Ealdama and All UP Academic Employees Union secretary general Prof. Sharon Anne B. Pangilinan.

The program was organized by the Office of the Director for Instruction.—CAI