print preview

First batch of PNOC-EC scholars introduced

(September 6)—The first batch of students under the Philippine National Oil Company-Exploration Corporation (PNOC-EC) Scholarship Program were awarded their scholarships in format ceremonies last September 5 at the GT-Toyota Asian Center Auditorium.

The scholars are composed of 10mining engineering students from the College of Engineering(CoE) and five geology students from the National Institute of Geological Sciences (NIGS).

The recipients from NIGS are Jomark Abliter (4th year), Reymar Diwa (3rd year), Marjorie Garcia (3rd year), Nichole Anthony Pacle (4thyear) andRaymond Jasper Sunico (4thyear). The recipients from CoE are Mark Joseph Abing (3rdyear), Grecco Ante (3rdyear), Gandalf Gutierrez (5thyear), Mae Lean Langcay (4thyear), Jonathan Lim (4thyear), Krestia Tulip Victoria Llanto (5thyear), Rializza Maramba (4thyear), Christian Paguio (5thyear), Wendy Talento (3rdyear) andPaola Grace Tuyor (4thyear).

Each scholar is entitled to up to P90,000 worth of benefits each semester, comprised of school fees, monthly stipends, book allowance, laboratory allowance and field training.

The scholarship is renewable every semester until the recipient finishes his/her degree course, provided that they: have never been subject to any disciplinary action; are enrolled in at least 15 units; are in good scholastic standing; and render the equivalent of one year of return service for every year of scholarship either in the Philippines or at PNOC-EC.

The scholarship is a component of a P500 million endowment fund agreement between UP and the PNOC-ECwhich includes funding for research and professorial chairs for both the CoE’s mining engineering program and NIGS.

Among the UP officials at the event were UP President Alfredo E. Pascual, UPD Chancellor Caesar Saloma, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Ma. Corazon Tan, CoE Dean Aura Matias, NIGS professor Dr. Mario Aurelio in place of director Carlo Arcilla and Department of Mining, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering chair Leslie Joy Diaz. Pacle and Llanto spoke on behalf of the scholars.—AKR