print preview

29 faculty members named UP Artists
By: Haidee C. Pineda, image by Jefferson Villacruz

Artist III recipients: Tolentino, Flores and Dalisay with Chancellor Tan and Pres. Pascual.

(SEPT. 8)— Twenty-nine artists from UP Diliman (UPD) received the 2014 UP Arts Productivity Award and were given the title “UP Artist” of various ranks in a ceremony held at the Ang Bahay ng Alumni on Aug. 28.

The award is given to deserving artists and art scholars for their contribution to the arts and humanities discipline.

This year, three were ranked Artist III: professors Dr. Jose Y. Dalisay Jr. and Dr. Patrick D. Flores, both from the College of Arts and Letters (CAL), and Dr. Rolando B. Tolentino, former College of Mass Communication (CMC) dean.

Twelve were awarded Artist II: Dr. Gerard Rey A. Lico (College of Architecture/CA), CAL professors Tessa Maria T. Guazon, Ramon G. Guillermo, Judy Celine A. Ick, Maria Eileen L. Ramirez, Rommel B. Rodriguez, Dexter M. Santos and Sir Anril P. Tiatco; Prof. Reuben R. Cañete (Asian Center), Leonilo O. Doloricon (College of Fine Arts/CFA), Sari Rissa Lluch Dalena (CMC) and Maria Christine M. Muyco (College of Music/CMu).

Ten were appointed Artist I: Jose Danilo A. Silvestre (CA), CAL professors Rommel Aries T. David, Josefina Estrella, U Z. Eliserio, Vladimeir B. Gonzales and Bernadette V. Neri; CFA professors Ruben F.M. De Jesus and Jamel Joseph A. Obnamia; CMC professors Danilo A. Arao, Yason Banal and Patrick F. Campos; and CMu professors Rodney D.S. Ambat, Alegria O. Ferrer and Raul C. Navarro.

Artist II recipients: (from left) Dalena, Chancellor Alfonso, Tiatco, Guazon, Lico, Ick, Santos, Cañete, Doloricon and Muyco with Chancellor Tan and Pres. Pascual. (Not in photo: Professors Maria Eileen L. Ramirez and Rommel B. Rodriguez)

Established by the Board of Regents in its 1239th meeting in December 2008, the UP Arts Productivity System (APS) is the counterpart for the arts of the UP Scientific Productivity System aimed at “encouraging outstanding productivity in the creative arts or in arts scholarship.”

“Artistic productivity” is measured by publication, presentation, exhibition, performance, etc. works of art in high quality/density digital and hard copy colored formats, whenever applicable; national and international recognition; peer review; and professional standing in the community, national and international.

According to the APS implementing guidelines, regular faculty, research faculty, REPS and administrative personnel in active service, and regular part-time faculty (occupying a regular item but teaching part time) in continuous service for five years at the time of application, may apply for appointment as UP Artist.

Qualified applicants are evaluated through a rigid screening system designed by a committee of peers and approved by the BOR.

To earn the rank of Artist I, II and III, the applicant must earn at least 70, 95 and 120 points, respectively.

The 29 appointed will hold the title for three years, renewable depending on performance. The monetary rewards this year increased as compared with previous years. The UP Artists now receives P150,000, P200,000 and P250,000 annually for Artist I, II and III, respectively, from the previous P120,000, P144,000 and P180,000, respectively.

Overall, 31 received the award: 29 from UPD and one each from UP Mindanao and UP Open University.

Artist I recipients: (from left) Campos, Banal, Neri, Ambat, Gonzales, Silvestre, David, Arao, Ferrer and De Jesus with Chancellor Tan and Pres. Pascual. (Not in photo: Prof. Raul C. Navarro)

Dr. Grace Javier Alfonso, UP Open University chancellor and a professor at the UP Film Institute, received the Artist II award while Prof. Ricardo M. de Ungria of UP Mindanao was awarded Artist I.

Also present were Chancellors Michael L. Tan (UP Diliman), Fernando C. Sanchez Jr. (UP Los Baños), Carmencita D. Padilla (UP Manila), Sylvia B. Concepcion (UP Mindanao) and Alfonso.

Assisted by the chancellors, UP President Alfredo E. Pascual presented the awards to the UP Artists.

Assistant Vice President (AVP) for Public Affairs Dr. Wendell Jose A. Capili and AVP for Academic Affairs for R&D Resource Management Prof. Mary Delia G. Tomacruz served as masters of ceremonies while CMu Prof. Ramon Ma. G. Acoymo provided the musical number.