print preview

27 faculty members appointed UP Scientists

Scientist III: (from left to right) Dr. Helena Yap, Dr. Carla Dimalanta, Dr. Rhodora Azanza, Dr. Gisela Concepcion,Dr. Porfirio Aiiño, Dr. Perry Ong and Dr. Erniel Barrios with UPD Chancellor Michael Tan and UP President Alfredo Pascual.

(SEPT. 8)—UP recognized the hard work and exceptional research productivity of its faculty members by appointing 27 of them as UP Scientists of various ranks under the Scientific Productivity System (SPS) in ceremonies at the Ang Bahay ng Alumni on Aug. 28.
The scientists were appointed for the period 2015 to 2017. Of the total appointees, 20 or 74.07 percent were from UPD.

Awarded as Scientist III were Dr. Perry S. Ong and Dr. Windell L. Rivera from the Institute of Biology (IB); Dr. Porfirio P. Aliño, Dr. Rhodora V. Azanza, Dr. Gisela P. Concepcion, Dr. Ronald D. Villanueva and Dr. Maria Helena T. Yap from The Marine Science Institute (MSI); Dr. Carla B. Dimalanta from the National Institute of Geological Sciences (NIGS); Dr. Caesar A. Saloma of National Institute of Physics (NIP); and Dr. Erniel B. Barrios of School of Statistics.

Named Scientist II were: Dr. Christine C. Hernandez from the Institute of Chemistry; Dr. Alfred F. Pawlik from Archaeological Studies Program and Dr. Jonas P. Quilang of IB.

Scientist II (from left to right) Dr. Christine Hernandez and Dr. Jonas Quilang with UPD Chancellor Michael Tan and UP President Alfredo Pascual.

Appointed Scientist I were: Dr. Clarissa C. David from College of Mass Communication; MSI professors Dr. Marie Antonette J. Meñez, Dr. Maria Lourdes San Diego-McGlone, Dr. Fernando P. Siringan and Dr. Cesar L. Villanoy; and Dr. Percival F. Almoro and Dr. Eric A. Galapon, both from the NIP.

The SPS was created by virtue of its approval of the UP Board of Regents at its 1199th meeting on Aug. 26, 2005.  SPS supports the development of science and technology and encourages and rewards scientific productivity.

The SPS implementing guidelines states that regular faculty, full time faculty, research faculty and Research Extension and Professional Staff (REPS) in active service who belong to the scientific disciplines such as basic/natural sciences and mathematics, engineering and information and communication technology, medical sciences, agricultural sciences, selected fields of Social Sciences, library and archival sciences and scientific and technical documentation, may be considered for the title of UP Scientist. Nominees must have at the minimum a Ph.D. degree or MD with MS/MA degrees.

Scientist I (from left to right) Dr. Marie Antonette Meñes, Dr. Eric Galapon, Dr. Clarissa David and Dr. Fernando Siringan with UPD Chancellor Michael Tan and UP President Alfredo Pascual.

Appointment as UP Scientist is evaluated based on the following general criteria: scientific publications in refereed reputable scientific journals and books; peer-reviewed technological outputs; scientific standing in the international science community; and professional standing in the international science community.

The UP Scientist appointment carries monetary rewards of P150,000, P200,000 and P250,000 annually, for Scientist I,II and III respectively. — ACG, photo by Jefferson Villacruz