upd banner

UP Diliman  Internet  

UP Diliman's top honors (1st row seated, left to right) Vincent M. Oville, Jose Lorenzo M. Ferrer, Martin Daniel C. Qui, Ernest Nathan L. Nogales, Miguel Niccolo V. Rallonza, Genesis Ijay R. Leal, Bryan Casper B. Chan, Kenneth Anthony R. Roquid, Janssen M. Kotah, Sir Albertti G. Flores, Emir-Deogene V. Mendoza and Dominic S. Albao. (2nd row standing, left to right) Ardea M. Licuanan, Ma. Patricia R. Nabong, Riana Sandra G. Chua, Janelle Rodine S. Carrillo, Samantha Marie C. Sundiam, Christy Eunice G. Reyes, Ma. Patricia R. Riego De Dios, Faye B. Zipagan, Maria Carla E. Buenaflor, Liezel U. Tamon, Meg L. Reganon, Marielle Antoinette H. Zosa, Finness A. Calacal, Camille Patricia Y. Calma and Tiffany Grace C. Uy. (Not in photo) Gabriela Victoria A. Timbancaya and Steven Michael L. Resma.




Meet the Summa


Commencement Speaker


Mensahe sa mga Magsisipagtapos
ni Br. Armin A. Luistro


The Chancellor's Opening Speech


President’s Message to the Graduates of UP Diliman 


Pag-uugat, Pag-uugnay, Pagyabong
ni Ma. Patricia Reyes Riego de Dios


Recognition Rites


Traffic Advisory

UP Diliman holds first June graduation

(JUN. 25)—The University of the Philippines Diliman (UPD) will hold its 104th General Commencement Exercises on June 28, 7:30 a.m. at the University Amphitheater.

This year’s rite is the first to be held in June, following the University’s academic calendar shift from June to August in 2014.

Twenty-nine summa cum laude will lead 4,441 candidates for graduation from the 27 degree-granting units. Summa cum laude, a Latin phrase meaning “with the greatest honors,” is the University’s highest academic distinction for graduates who earned a weighted average grade (WAG) of 1.20 or better.

Leading the top honors is Tiffany Grace C. Uy, BS Biology (Bio) with a WAG of 1.004. Following Uy is Emir-Deogene V. Mendoza, BA (Public Administration) with a grade of 1.101. The third highest is Gabriella Victoria A. Timbancaya, BA Psychology (Psych) with 1.107.

Others who made it to the top 10 are: Marielle Antoinette H. Zosa, BA (Philosophy), 1.125; Bryan Casper B. Chan, BS Computer Science, 1.126; Kenneth Anthony R. Roquid, BS Molecular Biology and Biotechnology (BS MBB), 1.135; Vincent M. Oville, BS (Geography), 1.136; Ma. Patricia R. Riego de Dios, BS (Psych) 1.139; Liezel U. Tamon, BS MBB, 1.144; and Miguel Niccolo V. Rallonza, BA (Anthropology), 1.149.

The next 10 are: Janssen M. Kotah, BS (Psych), 1.15; Genesis Ijay R. Leal, BA (Political Science), 1.154; Ardea M. Licuanan, BS (Bio), 1.158; Steven Michael L. Resma, BS Chemical Engineering (BSChE), 1.166; Camille Patricia Y. Calma, BS Business Administration, 1.166; Ma. Patricia R. Nabong, BA Film, 1.168; Christy Eunice G. Reyes, BS Civil Engineering, 1.173; Martin Daniel C. Qui, BS MBB, 1.173; Faye B. Zipagan, BS (Psych), 1.175 and Samantha Marie C. Sundiam, BS Econ, 1.18.

Completing the roster are: Jose Lorenzo M. Ferrer, BS MBB, 1.18; Dominic S. Albao, BS MBB, 1.184; Meg L. Reganon, BS Economics (Econ), 1.185; Janelle Rodine S. Carrillo, BS Business Administration and Accountancy (BSBAA), 1.191; Riana Sandra G. Chua, BSBAA, 1.191; Finness A. Calacal, Bachelor of Fine Arts Painting, 1.191; Ernest Nathan L. Nogales, BSChE, 1.195; Maria Carla E. Buenaflor, BS (Psych), 1.196; and Sir Albertti G. Flores, BA (European Languages), 1.198.

Uy’s grade surpassed that of John Gabriel P. Pelias, BS Mathematics 2011, who earned a WAG of 1.016.

Riego De Dios will speak on behalf of the graduating class.

Br. Armin A. Luistro FSC, Secretary of the Department of Education, will keynote the ceremonies. Luistro is concurrently Chairman of the Private Education Assistance Committee of the Fund for Assistance to Private Education and served as president of De La Salle University from 2006 to 2010.

In addition to the top honors, the graduating class has 250 magna cum laude, candidates with a WAG of up to 1.45 and 921 cum laude, up to 1.75. Of the total candidates for graduation, 3,501 will receive their undergraduate degrees and 940 their graduate degrees, of which 84 will be conferred their doctoral degrees by being hooded on stage.


University of the Philippines Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines (Trunkline): 981-8500 Telephone Directory
Comments and feedback: updio@upd.edu.ph

Copyright © 2015 All Rights Reserved