print preview

UPD holds orientation seminar for new deans and directors

Participants and resource speakers at the workshop.

(October 30)—Some 20 new UPD administrators, comprising the deans and directors, gathered at the National Institute of Physics for a one-day orientation workshop on fiscal administration and government procedures.

Organized by the Office of the Chancellor and conducted by the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Administration (OVCA), the seminar is intended to familiarize the new officers with the nuances and nitty-gritty of administration as well as answer any questions they might have.

Vice Chancellor for Administration Virginia Yap provided an overview of the OVCA, with the heads of the offices and teams under the OVCA serving as resource speakers.

The financial part of the program was conducted by Budget Office Acting Director Arsenio Pagador Jr., Accounting Office Acting Director Celeste Mamaril, Cash Office Acting Director Leonila Balasbas and Utilities Management Team head Prof. Mario Carreon.

The personnel and supply and property management sections of the program were conducted by Human Resources Development Office Director Angela Escoto and Supply and Property Management Office Acting Director Dan Saguil, respectively.

Among the activities were a discussion of issues and concerns related to fiscal administration, personnel administration, fund raising and resource generation, guidelines and procedures on supply and property management and utilities management.

The new UPD deans are Dr. Carolyn Sobritchea (Asian Center), Prof. Leonardo Rosete (College of Fine Arts), Dr. Ma. Lourdes Catral (College of Home Economics),  Prof. Ronualdo Dizer (College of Human Kinetics), Dr. José Maria Balmaceda (College of Science), Prof. Danilo Concepcion (College of Law), Dr. Ramon Clarete (UP School of Economics), Atty. Jonathan Sale (UP School of Labor and Industrial Relations) and Dr. Mario de los Reyes (UP School of Urban and Regional Planning).

The new directors are Dr. Armand Salvador Mijares (Archaeological Studies Program), Dr. Florencia Charito Sebastian (UP Extension Program in San Fernando Pampanga and Olongapo), Dr. Sonia Jacinto (Institute of Biology), Dr. Alexis Philip Acacio (Institute of Civil Engineering), Dr. Marian Roque (Institute of Mathematics), Dr. Marie Antonette Meñez (Marine Science Institute), Dr. Cynthia Palmes-Saloma (National Institute of Microbiology and Biotechnology), Dr. Roland Sarmago (National Institute of Physics), Dr. Windell Rivera (Natural Sciences Research Institute), Dr. Ronaldo San José (UP Integrated School) and Dr. Soledad Ulep (National Institute for Science and Mathematics Education Development).

The new administrators are Dr. Jesusa Catabui (University Health Service), Prof. Edgardo Dagdag (Chief Security Officer), Ms. Christine Alejandro (PABX), Dr. Johnrob Bantang (University Computer Center) and Prof. Maureen Anne Araneta (UP Diliman Information Office, incoming).—AKR