print preview

PHAN is now A.V. Lagmay Hall

The AV Lagmay bust by Dr. Mahar Lagmay (right of bust) was unveiled at the lobby of the now AV Lagmay hall by UP Officials that included College of Social Sciences and Philosophy Dean Grace Aguiling-Dalisay (left) and Chancellor Michael L. Tan (center).

(MAY 26)—UP Diliman’s Palma Hall Annex (PHAN) is now the A.V. Lagmay Hall, named in honor of Dr. Alfredo V. Lagmay, National Scientist for Experimental Psychology and UP Professor Emeritus, in ceremonies on May 4.

PHAN is home to the UP Department of Psychology. Lagmay was the Department’s longest-serving chair.

The May 4 event included the unveiling of a bust of Lagmay, a landmark and wall inscription with the name of the new hall, and an exhibit of Lagmay’s memorabilia. Lagmay’s book, “Journey of a Humanist,” and the Philippine Thematic Apperception Test (PTAT) were also re-launched.

Lagmay’s bust, a work by his equally eminent geologist son Mahar, was donated to the University by the national scientist’s immediate family.

UP officials and the Lagmay family at the AV Lagmay Hall landmark: (from left) Department of Psychology Chairman Mita Jimenez, Chancellor Michael L. Tan, the Lagmay family, children Sulayman, Susan, Alfredo Jr., Helen, Violet, Lagmay’s sister Felisa, and youngest son Mahar, President Alfredo E. Pascual and College of Social Sciences and Philosophy Dean Grace Aguiling-Dalisay.

Lagmay was conferred a National Scientist, the highest honor given by the President of the Philippines to individuals with significant contributions in one of the fields of science and technology, in 1988. He is considered a great influence in the development of scientific psychology in the Philippines, and is credited for, together with Virgilio Enriquez, the “Sikolohiyang Pilipino.” Lagmay encouraged the development of new methods in the study of Filipino psychology which would be more appropriate given the Filipinos’ diverse cultures. He was also the founder of the Psychological Association of the Philippines, established in 1962.

Present at the renaming were UP System and Diliman officials led by Chancellor Michael L. Tan and UP President Alfredo E. Pascual.—Mariamme D. Jadloc with report from Susan Lagmay Solis