print preview

2013 UPD student achievers urged to always stay creative

(March 04)— In an inspirational message during the Parangal sa Mag-aaral, College of Music university scholar Bernice Elaine U. Go advised her fellow student achievers to always stay creative and be not afraid to dream.

Go is one of the 3,274 student achievers in the graduate and undergraduate levels recognized by the UPD for their achievements in the past year at the ceremony held February 19 at the UP Film Institute’s Cine Adarna.

She also reminded her fellow awardees that although they all have achieved something, “we must always remember... ‘You are only as good as your last performance.’ We must never settle. We are only ever as good as our latest performance, our latest presentation, our latest achievement. And then that will be used as a standard for our future endeavours. We have all achieved something—but that does not mean that we cannot achieve even more.”

Annually, UPD honors University Scholars (US) or students who have earned a General Weighted Average (GWA) of not lower than 1.45, and those who have distinguished themselves in various fields.

Once again, the Science and Technology cluster produced the most number of achievers with 1, 304 US led by the College of Engineering with 661 awardees followed by the College of Science with 351.  Both colleges are two of the larger units in UPD.

The Social Sciences and Law Cluster came in second, producing 696 awardees mostly from the College of Social Sciences and Philosophy which had 455 awardees. It was followed by the College of Education with 179.

The Management and Economics cluster had 676 awardees this year while the Arts and Humanities cluster produced 598.

UPD also awarded graduates who made it to the top 10 in various licensure examinations in the country in 2012 such as for Architecture, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Electrical Engineering, Geodetic Engineering, Geology, Interior Design, Librarians, Mechanical Engineering, Nutritionist Dietitian, Teachers (Elementary and Secondary) and Social Work.

Students who excelled in other fields and won in national and international competitions were also recognized.

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Ma. Corazon Jimenez-Tan proudly welcomed the student achievers, organizations and volunteers, UPD officials, faculty, parents and other guests at the start of the program.

In her message, Tan said “Ang mga tagumpay at karangalan na natamo ng ating mga Iskolar ng Bayan sa iba’t ibang larangan dito man o sa ibang bansa ay patunay na talagang world class ang mga taga-UP. Gayundin, isang katangian ng ating mga Iskolar ng Bayan na ating pararangalan ngayon ay ang kanilang pag-aalay ng kanilang galing at talino sa mga tao at pamayanan na tumulong sa kanila upang matamo nila ang anumang tagumpay na kanilang nakamit.” (The triumphs and honors earned by the Iskolar ng Bayan in various fields here and abroad are proofs that UP students are indeed world class. Moreover, the characteristic of the Iskolar ng Bayan that we are honoring today are their contributions to the community who helped them succeed by virtue of offering their skills and knowledge.)

She also reminded the student achievers that an entire community helped them earn their diploma, honor and recognition. Additionally, Tan said she was glad that most of the student achievers she interacted with in various activities upheld the true meaning of honor and excellence in the service of the nation.

Special awards were also presented to student volunteers for the Diliman Learning Resource Center, Freshman Orientation Program, University Student Council Election 2012, 2012 Online Registration of Student Organizations, the UP Rayadillo Honor Guards and Corps of Sponsors.

This year, the Natatanging Samahan ng mga Iskolar ng Bayan awardwas presented to three student organizations, namely, the Economic Society (EcoSoc), Association of Computer Science Majors (Cursor) and Economic Towards Consciousness (ETC).

UP EcoSoc was recognized for continuously helping students to develop a more critical analysis of the economy as an approach towards change and development of the Filipino society. (Sa kanilang patuloy na paghubog ng mga mag-aaral na nagtataguyod ng mas kritikal na pagsusuri sa ekonomiya bilang hakbang tungo sa pagbabago at pag-unlad ng lipunang Filipino.)

UP Cursor, on the other hand, was recognized for continuously supporting the general interest of the Computer Science field. (Sa kanilang patuloy na pagtataguyod ng pangkalahatang interes sa larangan ng Computer Science.)

Meanwhile, UPETC was recognized for continuously influencing and advocating the social consciousness by analyzing of the conditions of society, economy and politics. (Sa kanilang patuloy na paghikayat at pagsulong ng kamalayang panlipunan sa pamamagitan ng pagsusuri ng mga kondisyong panlipunan, pangkabuhayan, at pampulitika.)

The awardees were chosen through a selection committee composed of Tan; Prof. Melania L. Flores, vice chancellor for Community Affairs; Dr. Giovanni A. Tapang, associate dean for student and public affairs of the College of Science; and student representatives Pauline Sebastian and Francisco Jayme Paolo A. Guiang.

In addition, UPD also recognized the exemplary leadership and service to the university and the community of student organizations, namely, the Advertising Core (AdCore), Junior Philippine Institute of Accountants (JPIA), Academic League of Chemical Engineering Students (ALCHEMES), United Architects of the Philippines Students Auxilliary (UAPSA), Career Assistance Program for Engineering Students (CAPES), Circle of Industrial Engineering (CIEM) and Lipunang Pangkasaysayan (LIKAS).

In his message to the student achievers, Chancellor Caesar A. Saloma congratulated the student achievers “for their stellar performance in academics and other endeavours in the past year.”

Saloma reminded the students that “UP Diliman is a complex community: it is the product of the synergy of its various stakeholders—the faculty, students, researchers, administrative staff, alumni, donors and residents—all those who have the best interests of the university at heart. And, as students, you play a very crucial role in shaping the university that we want and deserve: by striving for the best in all endeavours, you bring honor not only to yourselves, your parents and family but to the university as well.”

The ceremony was emceed by Prof. Gemma Filipina T. Malicdem of the College of Music and Prof. Dave G. Centeno of the College of Arts and Letters.

Intermission numbers were provided by the College of Engineering and the College of Science choirs.

The event ended with the singing of the UP Naming Mahal with the accompaniment from the UP ROTC Symphonic Band under the baton of Professor Rodney Ambat of the College of Music. —H.C.P.