print preview

KAISA standard bearers win the 2013 USC elections

Photo credit:

(March 8)—Ana Alexandra “Alex” Castro and Julliano Fernando “Jules” Guiang, both standard bearers of Nagkakaisang Iskolar para sa Pamantasan at Sambayanan (KAISA), were elected as chair and vice chair, respectively, of UPD’s University Student Council (USC) in  automated elections held February 28.

Based on the USC election results, Castro and Guiang officially garnered a total of 4, 944 and 3, 385 votes, respectively.  

Meanwhile, the 12 new USC Councilors are: Carla Monica “Carla” Gonzalez of KAISA (3,379 votes), Christian Lemuel “Lem” Magaling of Student Alliance for the Advancement of Democratic Rights in UP or STAND UP (3,307), Raphael Aaron “Aaron” Letaba of Alyansa ng mga Mag-aaral para sa Panlipunang Katwiran at Kaunlaran oR ALYANSA (3,081), Daniel “Dan” Guzman of KAISA (3,022 votes), Erra Mae “Erra” Zabat of STAND UP (2,924), John Paulo “JP” Delas Nieves of  ALYANSA (2, 816), Charlotte “Cha” France of STAND UP (2, 807), Rafael Luis “Rafa” Fernando of KAISA (2, 794),  Allyna-Haneefa “Neefa” Macapado of STAND UP (2,752), Arjay “Arjay” Mercado of ALYANSA (2, 747), Mario Andrefanio “Aio” Santos II of STAND UP (2,714) and Erica Camille “Erica” Lau of KAISA (2, 666).

The elected college representatives are: Ma. Ysabelle Clarisse Anne Bonoan (KAISA) for the Asian Institute of Tourism; Jose Ruel Fabia (KAISA) for the College of Architecture; Ma. Aliona Silva (STAND UP) for the College of Arts and Letters; Fenina Maria De Leon (ALYANSA) for the College of Business Administration; Carlo De Laza (KAISA) for the College of Fine Arts; Anna Alexa Nacional (KAISA) for the College of Home Economics; Ma. Isabella Aurellado (KAISA) for the College of Human Kinetics; Carla Cucueco (Independent) for the College of Mass Communication; Chris Erwin Alquizalas (ALYANSA) for the College of Social Sciences and Philosophy; Erika Isabel Yague (STAND UP) for the College of Social Work and Community Development; Regine Beatrice Rodriguez (Independent) for the School of Economics; Shamah Bulangis (ALYANSA) for the College of Education; April Rose Ramos (ALYANSA)  and Daniel Raymund Nieva (KAISA) for the College of Engineering; John Paul Rotap (Independent) for the College of Law; Stefanie Quintin (ALYANSA) for the College of Music; Francesca Anne Louise (KAISA) for the National College of Public Administration and Governance; Ram Vincent Tomaneng (KAISA) for the College of Science; David Terante (STAND UP) for the School of Library and Information Studies; and Maria Angelica Roton (ALYANSA) for the School of Statistics.

Election results are inclusive of the number of students who voted online and the 21 students who voted manually.

This year’s automated election was facilitated through the use of the open-source software called Halalan. It was initially used in the 2009 USC elections.

Halalan automated the manual election processes of voting, counting and archiving. It was created by members of the student organization UP Linux Users’ Group (UnPLUG) Waldemar Bautista, Ralph Justin Arce, John Michael Bitanga, Vanessa Rose Castro, Wigi Vei Oliveros, Antonio Mari San Miguel, DJ Sison, Carlo Santos and Orly Tarun with former UnPLUG president Rystraum Fabe Gamonez.

All elected student officials will serve in UPD’s USC for Academic Year 2013-2014. —H.C.P.