print preview

UPD units honored as Centers of Excellence

College and University officials display their plaques of recognition as Centers of Excellence. Front row (left to right) Dr. Grace Aguiling-Dalisay Chairperson of Department of Psychology, College of Music dean Jose Buenconsejo, Dr. Florinda Mateo Chair of the Department of Communication Research, Dr. Aldrin Lee Chair of Department of Linguistics, Dr. Nestor T. Castro Chair Department of Anthropology, OIC Journalism Department Prof. Lucia Tangi, CAL dean Dr. Elena Mirano, Dr. Teresita G. Maceda from DFPP, DECL chair Dr. Lily Rose Tope, and Prof. Jane Vinculado, OIC Broadcast Communication Department. At the back were (left to right) Dr. Mary Anne Bacolod from the Department of Linguistics, Eva Cadiz from College of Music, Dr. Aurora C. Mendoza from Department of Psychology, CMC dean Dr. Roland Tolentino, CSSP dean Dr. Michael Tan, UPD Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Dr. Ronald Banzon, and Dr. Ma. Milagros Laurel of DECL.


(June 11) – The College of Music and nine departments from three academic units—College of Arts and Letters (CAL), College Mass Communication (CMC) and College of Social Sciences and Philosophy (CSSP)—were honored by the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) during the awarding ceremonies and distribution of plaques of the Centers of Excellence (COE) and Centers of Development in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Communication Programs.

The ceremony was held June 4 at the CHED Auditorium at UP Diliman.

The COE is a distinction bestowed to outstanding units “which have demonstrated highest degree or level of standard in instruction research and extension.”

Institutions identified as COE are entitled to financial assistance for projects geared towards the improvement or development of cutting edge technology programs.

Leading the UPD awardees was the College of Music recognized for its Music Program.

Two departments from the College of Arts and Letters namely Departamento ng Filipino at Panitikan ng Pilipinas (DFPP) and the Department of English and Comparative Literature (DECL) were both named COE for Literature Program. In addition, DFPP was chosen COE for Filipino Program, and DECL was named COE for English Program.

Meanwhile, CMC’s departments of Broadcast Communication, Communication Research, and Journalism were identified as COE in Broadcasting, Communication and Journalism, respectively.

Completing the awardees from UPD were the four departments from CSSP. These are the Department of Anthropology, Department of Linguistics, Department of Political Science and Department of Psychology. — ACG