print preview

Rapid electric vehicle charging project bags DOST R&D award

CharM Project wins the DOST-PCIEERD's Most Outstanding R&D Award for Energy, Utilities, and Systems Category. (From right) Dr. Joel Joseph Marciano, Jr.; Dr. John Richard Hizon; Engr. Karl Lyndon Pacolor; Engr. Emmanuel Brian Arceo; Engr. Rovinna Janel Cruzate; Engr. Leo Allen Tayo; Usec. Rowena Cristina Guevara; Asst. Prof. Niño Christopher Ramos; Engr. Billy Joel Esquivel; Engr. Raphael Victor Canseco; Loreto Carasi; Lucky John Florindo and Patrick Montero from the DOST.

(JUL. 16)–A station that can fully charge an electric vehicle (e-vehicle) in 30 minutes nabbed the top prize in a recent R&D competition of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST).

The station is the centerpiece of the Rapid Electric Vehicle Charging – Charging in Minutes (CharM) Project from the Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute (EEEI) of the UP College of Engineering.

CharM Technical Working Group composed of researchers
from the EEEI (from left) Asst. Prof. Niño Christopher
Ramos; Engr. Billy Joel Esquivel; Engr. Emmanuel Brian
Arceo; Engr. Karl Lyndon Pacolor; Engr. Raphael Victor
Canseco; Engr. Rovinna Janel Cruzate
and Engr. Leo Allen Tayo.

It was named the 2015 Most Outstanding R&D Award under the Energy, Utilities, and Systems Category in the Search for Outstanding R&D of the Department of Science and Technology - Philippine Council for Industry, Energy, and Emerging Technology Research and Development (DOST-PCIEERD) ceremonies held in Marriott Hotel, Jun. 30.

The CharM station is similar to a gasoline station where owners can fully replenish the charge of their e-vehicles in just 30 minutes.

In addition to the charging station, the project also tests and qualifies lithium-ion batteries for e-vehicle use. A smart battery management system (BMS) that communicates with the rapid charger was also developed to enhance safety and reliability.

The CharM technical working group is composed of Prof. Niño Christopher Ramos, Science Research Specialist Leo Allen Tayo and College of Engineering graduate students Emmanuel Brian Arceo, Raphael Victor Canseco, Rovinna Janel Cruzate, Billy Joel Esquivel, Karl Lyndon Pacolor and Adrian Jay Virata.

Winners were evaluated based on the research’s scientific soundness, technical rigor, creativity and originality, clarity of presentation, and “overall impact and contribution to national programs for rapid, inclusive, and sustained economic growth.”

CharM Project is a DOST PCIEERD-funded
project which aims to support the
government's e-vehicle (EV) program by
developing a charging station where EVs can
be replenished with charging time of no
more than 30 minutes.

CharM project started in 2013 through the initiatives of Prof. Lew Andrew Tria of the EEEI, responding to the government’s call for energy efficiency by developing a fast-charging system for electric vehicles.

The goal of the DOST-PCIEERD’s Search for Outstanding R&D is to “recognize the research works of Filipino scientists, researchers, and engineers in the industry, energy, emerging technology, and special concerns like environment, climate change adaptation, and disaster risk reduction and management.”

The awards have four categories, namely Industrial Technology; Energy, Utilities, and Systems; Emerging Technology; and Special Concerns. Of the 45 entries submitted for all categories this year, the three to five finalists per category were presented before a panel of judges from Mar. to Jun. 2015. Winners from each category received P500,000 in cash.—Anna Regidor with additional reports and photos by EEEI