print preview

University of Houston officials visit UPD

UPD and UH officials during the exploratory talk for expansion of academic partnership at the Balay Tsanselor.

(January 14)— Officials of the University of Houston (UH), Texas USA paid a courtesy call on UPD Chancellor Caesar A. Saloma (center, front row) on January 9 at the Balay Tsanselor to explore the possible expansion of the academic partnership between UPD and UH.

The planned expansion of academic collaboration will include the College of Arts and Letters (CAL), the College of Engineering (CoE), the College of Social Sciences and Philosophy (CSSP), and other units of College of Science (CS) i.e., the Institute of Mathematics and the National Institute of Physics.

The UH has a Dual PhD Program Agreement with UPD, through the CS’ Institute of Chemistry (IC). Signed in February 2012, the agreement is intended for highly qualified graduate students who have earned their masters degrees at IC. Upon completion of the program, graduates obtain PhD degree from both the Department of Chemistry of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics of the UH and IC at CS here in UPD.

The UH officials include Dr. Jerald W. Strickland (fifth from left, front row), Assistant Vice Chancellor for International Studies and Programs; Dr. John L. Bear (second from left, front row), Special Assistant for International Graduate Students Initiatives; Dr. William E. Fitzgibbon III (sixth from left, front row), College of Technology dean; and Dr. Arnold M. Guloy (second from left, back row), UP alumnus and Associate Department Chair, Department of Chemistry.

Also present during the courtesy call were Dr. Ronald S. Banzon (third from left, front row), UPD Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs; Dr. Jose Maria P. Balmaceda (third from left, back row), CS dean; Dr. Elena Mirano (rightmost, front row), CAL dean; Dr. Richard Q. Chu (left most, back row) of CoE; Prof. Carlos P. Tatel (rightmost, back row) of CSSP; and Dr. Cristine DLR. Villagonzalo (leftmost, front row), Office of Extension Coordination director. —ACG